Soulsisters

saving our souls one tribe at a time.

Meet Your Soulsister: Jolie Guillebeau July 17, 2009

Filed under: Soulsisters 09 — Rachelle @ 7:19 am
Tags: ,

smallerjolie (2)

Jolie Guillebeau, painter, blogger and foodie extraordinaire.

 

Jolie and I met on-line through a friend-of-a-friend, and have a common connections through the neo-monastic community in Seattle. Now a resident of Portland, OR, Jolie has recently bumped into fellow Portlander Soulsister, Shari MacDonald, and of course they already adore each other. I know you’re going to fall just as quickly in love! Give a special shout out to Jolie in the comments — and thank her in advance for all the delicious food as Jolie has planned our fantastic gluten-free, vegetarian, summer-goodness spa menu!

 

Jolie’s Introduction:

A Ph.D candidate in Molecular Physics, a ballerina with the Royal Ballet of London, and Deputy Ambassador to Burkina Faso– Jolie has been none of these things. What she is: an artist who likes to look at clouds, read Jane Kenyon poems and eat soy ice cream sandwiches. She’s been to 46 countries, knit a fair isle sweater all by herself, and even had coffee with Desmond Tutu once, and now she works out her fragmented Faith by sitting at her easel. She’s married to Chris, and that’s enough adventure in itself.

Create something everyday, you’ll change the world.

I’m looking forward to this retreat, because I’m also lonely. We moved to Portland in February after a roller coaster chain of events led us away from Seattle and made us question every aspect of our lives and our values. For example, I want to make a living as a real artist, but also want to support my husband’s dreams. I want to honor God, but don’t think I can swallow the Christianity I’ve been fed all my life. I want stability, but I don’t want to sacrifice adventure to have it. With all these contradictions, I’ve found myself stuck and trapped in indecision. I’m hoping that this retreat (and all of you) will be able to offer some clarity and insight. Plus, I love to cook and can’t wait to share yummy food and great wine with all of you.

 

2 Responses to “Meet Your Soulsister: Jolie Guillebeau”

  1. Indeed we are living parallel lives, sister. Can’t wait to meet you in person.

  2. Lisa Says:

    I am SO looking forward to seeing you tomorrow. While not exactly parallel lives, I see a lot of my story in your brief intro.


Leave a Reply

