Soulsisters

saving our souls one tribe at a time.

Meet Your Soulsister: Emma Staake July 17, 2009

Filed under: Soulsisters 09 — Rachelle @ 7:07 am
Tags: ,

emmaandren

My sweet friend Emma, with her boyfriend Souren in front of our house.

 

So this is Emma, who among other things is girlfriend to Souren, our teenager-adopted-by-affection. Emma’s been in my virtual world for over a year now, and just this Summer we got to meet IRL, which was fan-damn-tastic. She’s a beautiful soul, often wise beyond her years, with an beautiful voice and bright future ahead of her. I’m totally stoked that she’s going to make mentory-friend connections on this retreat with soulsisters who are just a little ahead of her on the journey. I can’t wait to see the cross-generational energy flow! Sistahs, say hello to Emma!

 

Emma’s Introduction:

I’m Emma Staake — pronounced Stack-ey :]  I’m 17,  and a recent graduate of Roosevelt High School in Seattle. I met Rachelle about a year ago through my boyfriend, Souren Eriksen, who is part of Rachelle’s unofficial family, and thus, was taken in as a small piece of Rachelle’s large unofficial family. I am an artistic person who enjoys many mediums, but my main focus is Jazz Voice. I’m following that dream in my further education, first to Bellevue College, where I’ll be attending this fall to sing in their award winning “Celebration” Vocal Jazz Ensemble. Ultimately I want to teach jazz voice and possibly direct a jazz choir of my own. I am a budding arranger and composer, and I also love designing jewelry, writing, and doodling around on paper. I am attending this retreat for several reasons, the biggest being that I am finally (finally!!) done with highschool, and I want to surround myself with wonderful, nurturing, creative, collaborative people who can be my mutual mentors and friends.

 

One Response to “Meet Your Soulsister: Emma Staake”

  1. What an adventure we’re going to have! I’m looking forward to meeting you this weekend!


Leave a Reply

